Homemade Cinnamon Rolls

Jared’s birthday is almost here and I wanted to make him something special. He likes food as much as I do so I decided I’d make Cinnamon rolls for the first time. I’ve assisted in making them before never all by myself, so I had an idea of what I was doing. I did use a different recipe to better fit what I was making them for. My mother always told me that in cooking nothing has to be measured but in baking it does. So I didn’t make too many alterations in the recipes I found.

Everything you will need, the only thing missing is the butter, warm water, and milk.

1 1/2 cup very warm water
1 packet of yeast
2 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup olive oil
1 cup yellow cake mix
3 cups flour

Add warm water with yeast and sugar, stir in and let sit for 3 minutes. It should become a cloudy bowl after this duration of time has passed. The picture above is after salt is added. Salt is the activator to the yeast, it’ll start to bubble up.

Add the flour and oil. Start to knead with hands until dough has become like elastic.

Stick in a dry area with a thin cloth over bowl, let sit for 45 minutes. (Yes this is time consuming)

Dough after it has sat for 45 minutes. It was higher then this but I forgot to take a picture after I had already touched it and it sunk down a little.Roll dough out on floured surface. I do not have a roll pin so I get creative the poor way and use a cup as my rolling pin. I honestly couldn’t tell you how much to roll it out. Sprinkle filling all over the rolled out dough. Do however, make sure you spread the melted butter on there first.

1/2 cup butter, melted
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup yellow cake mixI need to get a little better about rolling them tighter but hey, it’s my first time. After you place them in pan, turn oven on to 375 and let these guys hang out for a little bit before throwing them in. They still need some time to rise. They’ve got character right.

When they go in the oven take this opportunity to make the yummy icing.

3 cups powdered sugar
1/4 cup cake mix
3 tablespoons butter, melted
3-5 tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon vanilla

Whisk together and pour over cinnamon rolls while still hot.Here they are! Aren’t they precious.. I mean delicious looking? They were really good too! Be careful because one leads to a second and then that leads to a sugar coma.

What do you think? Do you have a cinnamon roll recipe?

#amandatodd

 

Leave a Reply

Saying Something Clever

Amanda saying something clever

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Coffee

This site is about my passion for coffee, brewing methods, latte art.. ect

the food {and horse} bitch blog

Equestrian | Food | Travel | Photography | Jacksonville

