My Lunch for the Week

It’s not the most attractive picture, I know. But it is so delicious and it’s what I will be eating for the rest of the week. I love soup because there can be such a variety. I love cream base soups not broth base. Just in case you were all wondering. The beauty of soup is you can just throw things into a pot and let them hang out together. Want to know what’s in my bowl?

Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

-Get a bag of wild rice and follow the instructions on how to cook it on the bag/box. It says water but I used chicken broth to cook.

-Once the rice was finished I threw in a can of cream of mushroom soup, cream of chicken soup, more chicken broth, and a little bit of water.

-There was half an onion left in the fridge as well as a bunch of asparagus. Cut those guys up and they went in as well.

-In a separate pan, I cooked one chicken breast in a pan with oil. Seasonings used were Adobo, (thanks Carla) Trader Joe’s Everyday Seasoning, and fresh cracked pepper.

-Shred chicken and toss into the pot as well. I love seasonings so I just doubled up on my seasonings once everyone was in together.

-My reasoning for when it was done was the onions were clear and asparagus was tender.. and it was hot. : )

One of my many favorite things about soups are, I think they taste better the next day. Like I said it’s not pretty but it’s very yummy and smells so good!

What is your repetitive lunch this week?

2 comments
  1. Lindsey Brenner said:

    yum! i made stuff to eat chipotle-style bowls for the week. πŸ™‚ i’m going to have to try this one!
    ~LinBren

    • I saw your bowl! I want to make the lime rice like they do. Also, I like LinBren.. clever.

Leave a Reply

Saying Something Clever

Amanda saying something clever

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Coffee

This site is about my passion for coffee, brewing methods, latte art.. ect

the food {and horse} bitch blog

Equestrian | Food | Travel | Photography | Jacksonville

