Gluten Free Mint Chocolate Chip Cake

It’s a party! It’s a Birthday Party! My room friend, Amanda turned 21 yesterday. I wanted to try and make her a cake but didn’t know how it’d turn out. It actually turned out rather tasty. Because I didn’t have the confidence that it’d turn out good I didn’t take pictures of the process. (sorry!) I will, however, let you know what I did in case you want to do it. It actually was pretty easy.Amanda’s favorite ice cream is Mint Chocolate Chip so I thought I’d try and make up a recipe that was that, only in the form of cake. My secret to baking or cooking anything is, I either make it up or look up 3 to 5 recipes and adjust them to fit me.

Whatcha gonna need..

-Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Chocolate Cake Mix (sorry guys not exactly from scratch)

-Peppermint extract

Icing

-1 Package of cream cheese (softened)

-Chocolate chips

-1stick of butter (softened)

– 4 Cups powdered sugar

Follow the directions on the back of Mr. Bob’s package. The only thing to add is 2 tsp of peppermint and 1 tsp of vanilla (optional) OH and I get nervous all the time that it was going to be dry. Most gluten free items come out pretty dry so I added 3 Tablespoons of chocolate pudding mix. Pour into two well greased circle pans. Throw into your 350 oven for 30 minutes. Check with the tooth pick method.

Let cool for 15 minutes! (THIS IS IMPORTANT)

With a knife go around the edges of them to loosen them from the pan a little bit. I dumped mine out CAREFULLY onto two plates. I let them cool on the plates while I made the icing.

In a large bowl cream butter and cream cheese. Once well mixed start adding in the powdered sugar. After all the powdered sugar is in add in 2 tsp of peppermint extract.

Take a rubber spatula and top on top of one of the cakes and top it with chocolate chips. Place the other cake on top of that and use the rest of your icing to cover it all.

Things I wish I would have done:

It was a tiny bit dry but not gross. I like my cakes really moist. I wish I put chocolate chips in the actual cake batter, I just forgot. I also wish I had some ice cream on the side : )I was really happy with the way it turned out. I think Amanda liked it too ha?

If you make this and have any problems feel free to comment and I will answer to the best of my ability. If you do make this, let me know how it turns out!

#amandatodd

4 comments
  1. millercommalizz said:

    Oh I’d give anything for some cake right about now… 🙂 Looks so yummy!

    • Thanks for stopping by Jillian! If you end up making this let me know how it turns out! I’d love to know! Also, if you make it can you take a picture? You’d be my first person (that I didn’t know) to make one of my recipes! It’d mean a whole lot! Oh and I love your blog! : )

      • Jillian said:

        I will absolutely let you know! And yes, I will take pictures and send them to you. I will probably make it in a couple of weeks though- uber busy right now 🙂
        Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

Saying Something Clever

Amanda saying something clever

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Coffee

This site is about my passion for coffee, brewing methods, latte art.. ect

the food {and horse} bitch blog

Equestrian | Food | Travel | Photography | Jacksonville

