Gluten Free ‘Not’ Enchilada Casserole

I know it’s Thursday and I should be typing up my favorite things of the week but I have lacked in typing up blog posts for the last two days. I have, however, been stocking up places I’ve been going to and things I’ve been cooking.

Remember last week when I told you I went out and bought all those white corn tortillas? Well, there were a lot of them. So I started thinking of things to make. I thought I might try making enchiladas, even though I had never made them before. The thing I love about cooking most of the time you can just add stuff along the way. If you’re missing some of the ingredients no big deal, substitute something else. No proper measuring involved. I’ve shared before my secret in cooking is I just look at 5 recipes and adapt it to be my own. The two recipes I adapted from can be found here and here.

Again I didn’t take pictures of the process or measure anything because I didn’t think it’d turn out good. I was wrong and I’m sorry. What I can do is tell you what I did and guess how much I put in. ha! Not the prettiest looking thing in the world but it was pretty darn yummy.

What I used:

2 sweet potatoes

1 can of black beans

1 serving of white rice

12 white corn tortillas

1 tiny can of salsa verde

1 white cheddar cheese

Extras: chili powder, minced garlic, salt, pepper, cumin, adobo, salsa, and I had this chipotle sauce in the fridge so I used it.

Again before I get started you can adjust this to what you want to use. If you don’t like white cheddar cheese, get something else.Preheat oven to 350

-In large pot throw in your two peeled and cut up sweet potatoes in salted boiling water. Cover lid and let them get really soft.

-While they’re cooking get started on your rice. (Follow the directions on the back of the bag)

-In the meantime I rinsed my beans and shredded my cheese because I had gotten a block of it. It’s cheaper and it was on sale.

-Drain sweet potatoes and mash up with a fork. I do not own a mixer so I whipped these bad boys up by hand. I also threw in a little bit of heavy whipping cream to help me out. I wanted them to still have a little bit of texture to them so I didn’t whip them up all the way.

-In an oiled frying pan I placed my black beans and sweet potatoes in and added all of my spices. I then added my cooked rice and mixed it all around.

-In your casserole dish lay a layer of the bean potato rice mixture down. Use a rubber spatula to spread out, if not it won’t be easy to do with a wooden spoon.

-I took a can of almost used up salsa, threw it in a bowl and dipped my tortillas in it and then layered them on top of mixture in casserole dish.

-cover a little bit with cheese

-Repeat a layer of bean potato rice mixture on top of the tortillas.  That should be the last of your filling.

-repeat with your dipped tortillas on top.

-Pour the salsa verde mixture over top it as well as whatever other sauces you happen to have. I used a creamy chipotle sauce. I then shredded most of the rest of my cheese on it.

-Threw in oven for about 30 minutes and then enjoyed it!

It didn’t come out crumbly and everyone I shared it with loved it. It was super easy even though there are a lot of words that I used to describe what I did. It’s not the quickest meal but it pays off because you get a lot out of it.

Add some eggs to the side of it and you have a breakfast dish, ha!

Let me know if you guys make this or have any questions!

#amandatodd

 

Leave a Reply

Saying Something Clever

Amanda saying something clever

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Coffee

This site is about my passion for coffee, brewing methods, latte art.. ect

the food {and horse} bitch blog

Equestrian | Food | Travel | Photography | Jacksonville

