Stuffed Acorn Squash

Being a young adult who only works a part time job, money gets tight. So sometimes you have to just use everything you already have. It is hard to eat lots of healthy items when ramen noodles are only a dollar for four. I hate cheap tasting food and I don’t like what comes in it. So I know, no matter how poor I get, I refuse to eat vending machine food.

So one of the great things to make is, Stuffed Acorn Squash! You can really put anything into it. I’d prefer to choose but like I said, not really an option. Alright, so what we have is a plablano pepper, acorn squash, couscous, scallions, and bok choy. All the vegetables, aside from the squash are from The Veggie Bin.  I’ll have to do a post sometime about them, they’re awesome. My couscous I got while Jared and I were in North Carolina in a grocery store called, Amazing Savings. This place truly is amazing. They take damaged products or close to expiration date from other grocery stores and sell it real cheap. Other grocery stores are told to toss it, even when nothing is really wrong with it. So my not expired, perfectly fine, box just bent in a little bit, couscous was only .99 cents. First, cut your acorn in half, take the seeds out and lay flat into a dish with a little bit of water and olive oil. Place in 375 oven covered for 30 minutes or until flesh of squash is tender.

While these guys are softening up chop all your veggies up and saute in a pan with olive oil. This will reduce their size a little bit. Add whatever spices you’d like or have on hand.

Follow the directions on the box for couscous

Mix together the couscous and veggies.

mmmmm looks so good, I’d eat this again!

Place mixture inside your squash and bake again for 10 minutes.

I had a white cheddar block of cheese so I shredded it on top of these guys.It’s also wonderful when your boyfriend has a ton of frozen chicken breasts. It makes dinner time much more filling!

What’s your rendition of stuffed acorn squash?

#amandatodd

Leave a Reply

Saying Something Clever

Amanda saying something clever

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Coffee

This site is about my passion for coffee, brewing methods, latte art.. ect

the food {and horse} bitch blog

Equestrian | Food | Travel | Photography | Jacksonville

