Homemade Chicken Stock

So as Thanksgiving is coming to a near. I want to encourage a ton of people to take full advantage of everything that bird has to offer. We go out and buy chicken stock all the time. Well, cut it out! You can replace chicken with turkey easily. We’re going to be using it on gravy and stuffing, and who knows what else! Unless you use all packaged stuffing, in that case, we need to have a more in-depth talk. Maybe I should do a post on why homemade is better. Especially in this sense, home made taste better, it’s cheaper, and it goes a long way. You can easily make homemade chicken/turkey stock with the bones of a roasted turkey. However for this occasion I boiled my chicken. I knew I needed some chicken stock before I had roasted a turkey so this is why I chose to do it this way. Also with this boiled chicken there was so much meat that Jared and I are still eating off of it. Anything we can add chicken to, we’re doing so.The basics of what you’ll need are carrots, celery, onion, a whole chicken, and whatever spices you’d like. I had some rosemary in the fridge so I used some of those guys. Along with Adobo, an every day seasoning, sea salt, and lots of fresh cracked pepper. After you have gather everything open up that bird and rinse it off. A lot of places online will tell you that maybe rinsing off isn’t the best idea because of cross contamintaiton. But I personally feel a little bit better when I rinse it off. Sometimes there’s feathers left on it and I don’t know, it just makes me feel better. Do be careful because this is a big huge raw piece of meat. Make sure you’re rinsing it in a clean sink and make sure you rinse that sink out afterwards. Rinse the cavity of the bird as well. If you’ve never done this before don’t be alarmed of the bag inside of the bird. Remember to take it out, ha! That’s the heart, liver, neck, and gizzards. Some people eat them. My parents use to put it in the dressing. I just use it as extra flavor in the stock.Put you chicken/turkey into a pot that will hold it. It needs to be big enough to the point it can be covered with water. Cut up all your veggies and throw them in. I brought mine to a boil and turned down to low for an hour and a half. Always keep it covered. You’ll know this is done if the meat falls off the bone. I honestly thought this was going to take forever. I wasn’t expecting it to be an hour and done. Another way to check to see if it’s finished is if you were to take it out if you stabbed it if the juices ran clear.

Set aside to cool. This is for no other reason then to make sure you don’t burn yourself.

Carefully pull out the whole bird. Note:Some pieces may fall off in the process.

Get a colander and pour your juices out into a bowl. You can discard onions, celery, and carrots along with the innards of the chicken. There’s not much else you can do with them after this.

You are now free to start canning and using your stock right away. Chicken noodle soup is always a good start. ; )

The thing I did not do which I should have done was after the pot cooled down skimmed the top off. You can tell in the first two jars that I did not do that. ha! That’s fat… It does however just melt when heated and doesn’t hurt anything other than your heart, ha. Not a big deal just a little gross.Trying to get fancy with my photo taking. Clearly not working. However, you can see in the background the apartment has already decided it was Christmas.

Do you guys have any fancy secrets to chicken/turkey stock?

#amandatodd

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Saying Something Clever

Amanda saying something clever

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Coffee

This site is about my passion for coffee, brewing methods, latte art.. ect

the food {and horse} bitch blog

Equestrian | Food | Travel | Photography | Jacksonville

