I am The District Church

This is a more serious blog, not that my food blogs aren’t serious. Those are actually really serious, this is just actually really more serious. Before you read any further, do note, there are a lot of words so you’re warned.

If you’re reading this, you probably know me. If you don’t know me and you’re reading this, it may not make sense. But welcome to an excerpt of a chapter of my life story.Screen shot 2012-08-30 at 5.38.19 PM.png

It’s been a couple of months since I left Celebration and joined The District Church. I wanted to tell you sooner but I wasn’t quite sure what to say, I never quite know what to say. I wanted to tell you how much I love Celebration and how God has brought a new adventure into my life. For some reason that sentence didn’t do it justice. I wanted to expand and give explanations because for some reason I thought you’d question me.

I’ve been highly involved in Celebration for the past three years, I never thought I would leave unless I moved out of the state. In a brief explanation in my time in Celebration I learned who I was, who Jesus was and who Jesus said I was. I discovered passions and what a life’s calling is. I found out on multiple occasions what it means to, “Live in the Now.” I met some of the finest created human beings and shared adventures together. In turn I’ve learned a lot of what a true friendship is and these people will be what we call, forever friends. I’ve been blessed by God multiple times in ways I don’t think I’d ever deserve. I’ve traveled across the states and to another country with people in Celebration. I cried, got hurt and flustered but laughed hysterically more. I love Celebration and who it has created me to be and how my character has been refined more importantly. I have learned humility is a characteristic every great leader should uphold.

I love Celebration but I knew when I first moved down here three years ago that I was never meant to stay. I came to be trained by the best and I was. The greatness I’ve been destined to be was never meant to stay in those four walls, I was to go out and put to practice everything I had learned. I was to be who I was created to be and show Christs love wherever He was to have me go.

God gave me the opportunity to be The District Church. It’s a church plant in the Riverside area. If you know me, you know my love for Riverside and the culture there. It reminds me of my small weird town I grew up in. I love the community feel that each person gives, no matter their background. I can see the potential in each person that calls Riverside/Avondale home. I haven’t allowed myself to sit down and process all that I’ve learned in the past couple of months but what I have had time to process I’d like to share it with you.

  • I’ve learned more and more how much I love community and how much it’s necessary. We were never designed to be alone in our story and because of this reminder the other people apart of The District Church are even more beautiful to me.
  • I do not go or am a part of The District Church, I am The District Church. I go out into the city not just representing Christ’s name I represent The District Church.
  • I am living on mission. We often see missionaries as people who travel across the country or out of it. If we were to look at our neighborhood as our mission ground, how differently would we be treating it? One of my close friends just spent three months in Haiti and her whole life was altered. What she ate, where she ate, when she woke up, and what she decided to do. Why can’t we have this outlook on the place where we live or where we grew up?
  • The District Church is a generous church and because I am The District Church, individually I will be a generous person.
  • We’ll/I’ll serve the people in our neighborhood who can do nothing for us in return because that’s what Christ did for us.
  • “If you need anything, let me know” should be integrated into every sentence I speak to people I meet.
  • Riverside holds some creative brains. They accomplish dreams and it is often shared with the people surrounding them. Promote human flourishing in every area of society.
  • Praying together and being honest reminds me that we’re doing this because God called us to it. It sounds cheesy but when the church grows with different areas of ministry the answer should always be The Gospel. Why is there a kids ministry? Not because the kids need a place to go it’s because we’re to show them who Jesus is and speak The Gospel. Why do we help organizations in the neighborhood? Not because they need help selling their products and clean,  we’re to show them who Jesus is and speak The Gospel.

We, as a group often talk about how in the future we’ll look back and share these stories of where it all got started. Even though it’s only been a couple of months I like to look back now and see where it all started. I have such a bad memory that I write it all down. I thank God for using me for something great. I thank God he knows me better then I know myself and for providing a church home for me. I am realistic enough to know that this won’t always be easy and the road going down is going to be a little painful. But I also know that I am going to be stretched beyond what I thought my greatest abilities were, I’ll move further into my potential, and the gain at the end of this chapter will be a blessing to share.

One of my most favorite things is our mission statement as a church. It’s what drew me to the church in the very beginning.. The District Church exists to make disciples by interrupting people’s lives with love, because the gospel changes everything.amand-district-church

I know I’ve said a lot but I’d love for you to know more, you can see my bloggerview (blog interview) here.

 

If you’d like to join me for one of our gatherings get into contact with me, I’d love to show you beyond these words what God is doing.

If you plain just want to know more about the church, who our Pastor is, who else is in the launch team you can click  here.

Thank you so much for reading pieces of my heart, it means a whole lot that’d you take a portion of your day to sit down and read it.

#uhmandatodd

Leave a Reply

Saying Something Clever

Amanda saying something clever

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Coffee

This site is about my passion for coffee, brewing methods, latte art.. ect

the food {and horse} bitch blog

Equestrian | Food | Travel | Photography | Jacksonville

