What Will You Be Known For?

I know I haven’t posted too much on my personal blog which was intended to be a food documentary.  I thought only myself and my mom would read this little guy. Because of my nook on the internet I was able to get plugged into writing for another local blog called, Somewhere in the City. If you follow me you already know this part. Ever since I started writing for Somewhere in the City I gave all my food reviews to them so I actually had no idea what to say here. I ran out of clever things to say. I also started working two jobs at one time and when you become a robot you lose sight of dreams.

I once heard that if you don’t know what your passions are, pay attention to what you talk about because what your passionate about you’ll talk about. Recently I’ve talked a lot of the church plant I’m a part of. It’s not because it’s new, it’s because of three words I thought of the other day. I mean I didn’t make them up, they’re words that already exist, I know this because when I type them a red line doesn’t show up underneath of them.

A couple of weeks ago our Pastor posed us with a couple of questions; what would The District Church be known for? If the church were to close their doors, would any one notice? On the opposite  page of my notes I wrote down three words. They were…photo (63)Some how they all ended up starting with the letter, ‘G’

This is how I view The District Church and these three things are also what I want to be known for. So it just happened to work out perfectly since I no longer go to church or attend a church, I am the church. I am a part of the make up of the DNA and culture The District Church.

Generous- They are to do good, to be rich in good works, to be generous and ready to share…

I rather enjoy sharing, it gives me more to talk about with people. If they get to experience what I am experience through a generous gift then by all means, our conversations should go on for days. This church gives to some who others would never consider giving to. Or they give to people who would never expect to receive anything from a church. If more churches would give to the unexpected individual I think it may change the course of the way they think of who Jesus really is.

Grateful– If you know me, you know I love the characteristic of humility. I think being grateful and being humble go hand and hand. I lack confidence often times because I lean too much into humility. We deserve nothing, absolutely nothing. And I tell myself if I receive anything I should be grateful but I need to also remember the word GRACE. Grace should remind me to be confident. I see the people in this church thankful for opportunities given to them and it is only through grace that we can meet together, listen to a life story, and operate out of the talents we’ve been equipped with for just a time as this.

Genuine– I feel like genuine people are who others flock to because of their sincerity and honesty. They do things out of pure generosity and for no personal gain. These genuine people are secure in their identity. They don’t waiver from group to group and their personality stays true to who Jesus created them to be. Again, I believe humble people are genuine people. They mean what they say, in 2 Thessalonians Paul said he wrote his greetings with his own hands to show his genuineness in every letter. I believe we have a very genuine God. It was brought to my attention a little while ago that while God was creating the universe he was speaking planets, animals, oceans, and agriculture into existence but forming us with His hands. That seems like genuine love to me.

Maybe this was a little too personal but to be quite honest, I didn’t make you read to the last paragraph, you did that on your own. I hope to constantly strive to live a life where I am continuously generous, grateful, and genuine. I hope I constantly talk to my beating heart and see where it weighs in on the areas of which my soul has placed importance on.

Leave a Reply

Saying Something Clever

Amanda saying something clever

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Coffee

This site is about my passion for coffee, brewing methods, latte art.. ect

the food {and horse} bitch blog

Equestrian | Food | Travel | Photography | Jacksonville

