My Engagement Ring

A few months back Jared had asked me to start looking at engagement rings to see what kind of style I liked. It was overwhelming and I had no idea what I was looking for. I didn’t know there was such a thing as a princess cut. I knew there was silver and gold and round and square. I didn’t like doing it and I hated looking at all the prices. Oh and I also didn’t know that an engagement ring is different than a wedding ring. Once I found that out I was very upset that I had to pick out TWO rings! I told Jared I didn’t care at that point what it looked like.

Yesterday I shared with you how I made this semi crazy list of my expectations of who my husband was. (If you missed it click here.) On my list was one that was very dear to my heart. It reads, “Bring a beautiful mother-in-law to me.” I am very close to my mother and for my age group she is a little bit older. She had me when she was 42 so in the back of my mind I had this fear she wouldn’t be there for the times I needed her most as an adult. You know sometimes, it’s the mom who tells you the secrets of walking in heels or what if there is a secret way only moms know how to change a diaper? I know this is selfish to want considering not everyone has a mother still or their mother isn’t as lovely as mine. So when I met Jared I would constantly ask about his parents. I know this doesn’t hold true for everyone but I truly believe good character often comes from good parenting.

I met Jared’s parents over hibachi in February of last year. Even though I denied and resisted the idea of marriage I was excited to know I might possibly walk into a well rounded family who loves God. After I had told Jared that I didn’t want to look for rings anymore he told me that a couple of months before both of his parents offered for him to have his mother’s engagement ring. He asked if I’d be interested in that. Uh.. hello.. YES! I didn’t care what it looked like as long as I could share the story it held.DSC_0478Whether you think it’s pretty or not, it’s lovely because I have a story for you. I love things with meaning. In the past 9 months Jared’s mom has had 8 surgeries on her brain. I won’t go into detail of everything that this family has gone through but because of this this ring is something I’ll forever hold close to my heart. When Jared told me both his dad and mother suggested this ring for me there was an immediate sense of honor I felt. It was a feeling I had never felt before especially for a piece of jewelry.

8 brain surgeries is difficult and I often questioned God about my list. I felt as if he had promised me a mother in law. I felt like God told me no matter what happens to her I did receive a wonderful Mother-in-law and Jared proves that I will. The way he carries himself and treats other people shows that someone raised him right. I commend both of his parents.

We went to see his mom a couple of days ago and I was able to tell her how appreciative I was that she thought I was a good fit to share this ring with her. I thanked her and told her how beautiful it was and how excited I was for my very first family heirloom. I can’t picture giving birth to a human being but when I do I will share the legacy and meaning this ring holds.

Do you have a very special ring?

Thank you for letting me open my heart up to you.

Amanda..

3 comments
  1. Rebecca Vega said:

    This is beautiful, Amanda. You and Jared will have such a wonderful life together!

  2. James Norris said:

    What a beautiful ring. My fiance’s ring looks very similar. I love engagement rings in Utah because they are so inexpensive. Keep up the great posts!

  3. Nicole Gaskins said:

    Thanks for sharing your story, it brought tears to my eyes!

Leave a Reply

Saying Something Clever

Amanda saying something clever

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Coffee

This site is about my passion for coffee, brewing methods, latte art.. ect

the food {and horse} bitch blog

Equestrian | Food | Travel | Photography | Jacksonville

